Today's NBA games

All scores & games
Game times: Eastern Time.Overview follows Eastern league dates.
Franchise history

Utah Jazz retired jersey numbers

7 numbers honoring 7 players in the reviewed records.

Separately, the archive lists 4 commemorative numeric banners for nonplayers. These honors are excluded from the retired player-number count. The reviewed categories honor 11 individual people. Commemorative banner labels are not counted as retired player jersey numbers.

Seven former-player number retirements from the NBA.com Staff list published December 6, 2024, including the New Orleans Jazz franchise history where stated. Four individual staff and owner banners are separately corroborated by team reports. Those reports establish Sloan’s label as 1223 and Hundley’s as 3051, correcting the overview’s 122 and 11. These are commemorative labels, not additional retired player numbers. Maravich’s ceremony date comes from a completed NBA historical event; Miller’s banner date comes from an explicit team retrospective. Other ceremony dates remain unstated, and Sloan’s announced date is not treated as a confirmed event date. This is not a complete current inventory of all team honors.

Source review: . Source reference

Retired player numbers

Utah Jazz player-number records; ceremony dates are shown when stated in the cited reference.
NumberPlayerRetirement date
4Adrian DantleyNot stated in the reviewed sources.
7Pete MaravichCompleted event confirmed by the cited NBA historical report.
12John StocktonNot stated in the reviewed sources.
14Jeff HornacekNot stated in the reviewed sources.
32Karl MaloneNot stated in the reviewed sources.
35Darrell GriffithNot stated in the reviewed sources.
53Mark EatonNot stated in the reviewed sources.

Other honors in reviewed sources

Separately, the archive lists 4 commemorative numeric banners for nonplayers. These honors are excluded from the retired player-number count. The reviewed categories honor 11 individual people. Commemorative banner labels are not counted as retired player jersey numbers.

Commemorative numeric banners for nonplayers

Commemorative numeric banners for nonplayers — separate from the retired player-number table.
LabelHonoreeHonor date
1Frank LaydenFormer head coach and general managerThe team lists this commemorative banner separately from retired player jersey numbers; its label does not establish player-number availability.The completed banner is confirmed, but its ceremony date is not stated in the reviewed sources.
9Larry H. MillerOwnerThe team lists this commemorative banner separately from retired player jersey numbers; its label does not establish player-number availability.
3051Rod HundleyBroadcasterThe team lists this commemorative banner separately from retired player jersey numbers; its label does not establish player-number availability.The completed banner is confirmed, but its ceremony date is not stated in the reviewed sources.
1223Jerry SloanCoachHonor details referenceThe team defines 1223 as 1,127 regular-season plus 96 playoff wins as Jazz head coach. This is a commemorative coaching total, not a player jersey number.The ceremony was announced for January 31, 2014. A later team statement confirms the banner is hanging, but does not establish the exact ceremony date.

Team honors and leaguewide No. 6

The NBA and NBPA announced the permanent leaguewide retirement of Bill Russell’s No. 6 on August 11, 2022. That leaguewide policy is not counted as an additional team retirement in this archive. Leaguewide announcement · Number rules and the dated grandfathering exception

Questions about Utah Jazz retired numbers

How many Utah Jazz jersey numbers are listed as retired?

The reviewed records list 7 distinct numbers honoring 7 players. This source review is dated October 1, 2026; it counts player-number retirements, not every banner or team honor. Separately, the archive lists 4 commemorative numeric banners for nonplayers. These honors are excluded from the retired player-number count. The reviewed categories honor 11 individual people. Commemorative banner labels are not counted as retired player jersey numbers. These records cover events through December 6, 2024; later additions have not been established by this review.

Which Utah Jazz numbers are in this archive?

The listed retired numbers are 4, 7, 12, 14, 32, 35, 53. Each number and honoree appears in the table with its source reference.

Is Bill Russell’s leaguewide No. 6 retirement included in this count?

The NBA and NBPA announced the permanent leaguewide retirement of Bill Russell’s No. 6 on August 11, 2022. That leaguewide policy is not counted as an additional team retirement in this archive.

What does the 1 banner for Frank Layden represent?

Frank Layden (Former head coach and general manager) has the commemorative banner label 1. The team lists this commemorative banner separately from retired player jersey numbers; its label does not establish player-number availability. The completed banner is confirmed, but its ceremony date is not stated in the reviewed sources.

What does the 9 banner for Larry H. Miller represent?

Larry H. Miller (Owner) has the commemorative banner label 9. The team lists this commemorative banner separately from retired player jersey numbers; its label does not establish player-number availability. The team dates the completed honor to April 14, 2010.

What does the 3051 banner for Rod Hundley represent?

Rod Hundley (Broadcaster) has the commemorative banner label 3051. The team lists this commemorative banner separately from retired player jersey numbers; its label does not establish player-number availability. The completed banner is confirmed, but its ceremony date is not stated in the reviewed sources.

What does the 1223 banner for Jerry Sloan represent?

Jerry Sloan (Coach) has the commemorative banner label 1223. The team defines 1223 as 1,127 regular-season plus 96 playoff wins as Jazz head coach. This is a commemorative coaching total, not a player jersey number. The ceremony was announced for January 31, 2014. A later team statement confirms the banner is hanging, but does not establish the exact ceremony date.

Why are some retirement dates not shown?

The cited report establishes that these numbers were already retired, but does not give the original ceremony dates for Adrian Dantley, John Stockton, Jeff Hornacek, Karl Malone, Darrell Griffith, Mark Eaton. Those dates remain unstated here; the report’s publication date is not substituted for a retirement date.