Final
Houston Rockets at Dallas Mavericks
135 – 117
2026-27 · Preseason · Preseason
Game state source: whynba · Retrieved Oct 9, 6:37 pm EDTFinal
135 – 117
2026-27 · Preseason · Preseason
Game state source: whynba · Retrieved Oct 9, 6:37 pm EDTScheduled
2026-27 · Preseason · Preseason
Game state source: whynba · Retrieved Oct 9, 6:37 pm EDTFinal
110 – 114
2026-27 · Preseason · Preseason
Game state source: whynba · Retrieved Oct 9, 2:29 am EDTFinal
123 – 116
2026-27 · Preseason · Preseason
Game state source: whynba · Retrieved Oct 9, 2:29 am EDTFinal
118 – 128
2026-27 · Preseason · Preseason
Game state source: whynba · Retrieved Oct 9, 2:29 am EDTFinal
108 – 114
2026-27 · Preseason · Preseason
Game state source: whynba · Retrieved Oct 9, 2:29 am EDTFinal
111 – 109
2026-27 · Preseason · Preseason
Game state source: whynba · Retrieved Oct 9, 2:29 am EDTScheduled
2026-27 · Preseason · Preseason
Schedule source: whynba · Retrieved Oct 9, 2:29 am EDT187 player-number records across 29 reviewed teams. Search by player, team or number, and follow each record to its source.
This is a growing, dated source collection, not a complete current inventory of all 30 NBA teams. Review dates describe our source checks; they do not establish that a team list is current through today.
No reviewed records match these filters. An absent result does not establish whether a number is available or retired by another team.
All 187 documented player-number associations; other honors, including commemorative banners and collective dedications, are excluded.
Scroll horizontally to see all columns.
| Number | Player and source | Team archive | Retirement date |
|---|---|---|---|
| 00 | Robert Parish | Boston Celtics | |
| 00 | Johnny Moore | San Antonio Spurs | Not stated in the reviewed list. |
| 1 | Derrick Rose | Chicago Bulls | |
| 1 | Chauncey Billups | Detroit Pistons | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 1 | Chris Bosh | Miami Heat | Not stated in the January 2024 report. |
| 1 | Oscar Robertson | Milwaukee Bucks | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 1 | Tiny Archibald | Sacramento Kings | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 2 | Alex English | Denver Nuggets | The historical ceremony entry conflicts with the dedicated team list on English’s number; its date is withheld pending corroboration. |
| 2 | Junior Bridgeman | Milwaukee Bucks | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 2 | Malik Sealy | Minnesota Timberwolves | |
| 2 | Moses Malone | Philadelphia 76ers | |
| 2 | Mitch Richmond | Sacramento Kings | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 3 | Dennis Johnson | Boston Celtics | |
| 3 | Drazen Petrovic | Brooklyn Nets | |
| 3 | Ben Wallace | Detroit Pistons | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 3 | Dwyane Wade | Miami Heat | Not stated in the January 2024 report. |
| 3 | Allen Iverson | Philadelphia 76ers | |
| 4 | Jerry Sloan | Chicago Bulls | |
| 4 | Joe Dumars | Detroit Pistons | |
| 4 | Sidney Moncrief | Milwaukee Bucks | |
| 4 | Nick Collison | Oklahoma City Thunder | Date derived from reportsDate derived from reports: ESPN’s March 21, 2019 report describes the completed Wednesday ceremony against Toronto. Kansas Athletics reports March 20 ceremonies in an article dated March 20, 2019. The earlier team announcement corroborates that day. No single completed-event sentence prints the full date. |
| 4 | Dolph Schayes | Philadelphia 76ers | |
| 4 | Chris Webber | Sacramento Kings | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 4 | Adrian Dantley | Utah Jazz | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 5 | Kevin Garnett | Boston Celtics | |
| 5 | Jason Kidd | Brooklyn Nets | The report identifies the existing No. 5 banner beside Carter’s; Kidd’s ceremony date is not stated. |
| 5 | Dick Van Arsdale | Phoenix Suns | The reviewed source establishes retirement but does not state the ceremony date. |
| 6 | Bill Russell | Boston Celtics | |
| 6 | Julius Erving | Philadelphia 76ers | |
| 6 | Walter Davis | Phoenix Suns | The reviewed source establishes retirement but does not state the ceremony date. |
| 6 | Avery Johnson | San Antonio Spurs | Not stated in the reviewed list. |
| 7 | Bobby "Bingo" Smith | Cleveland Cavaliers | |
| 7 | Pete MaravichPete Maravich never played for the Pelicans franchise. The Associated Press explains that New Orleans retired his No. 7 because he played in the city for the Jazz and attended LSU. | New Orleans Pelicans | The original Pelicans retirement date is not established by the reviewed report. |
| 7 | Kevin Johnson | Phoenix Suns | |
| 7 | Pete Maravich | Utah Jazz | |
| 8 | Kobe Bryant | Los Angeles Lakers | |
| 8 | Marques Johnson | Milwaukee Bucks | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 9 | Bob Pettit | Atlanta Hawks | Not established in the reviewed sources. |
| 9 | Andre Iguodala | Golden State Warriors | Not stated in the reviewed list. |
| 9 | Tony Allen | Memphis Grizzlies | The team documentary confirms the completed retirement. The exact ceremony date remains unresolved because the overview conflicts with the team’s chronology. |
| 9 | Tony Parker | San Antonio Spurs | Not stated in the reviewed list. |
| 10 | Jo Jo White | Boston Celtics | |
| 10 | Bob Love | Chicago Bulls | |
| 10 | Dennis Rodman | Detroit Pistons | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 10 | Tim Hardaway | Miami Heat | Not stated in the January 2024 report. |
| 10 | Bob Dandridge | Milwaukee Bucks | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 10 | Walt Frazier | New York Knicks | The source states 1979; the exact ceremony date is not established. |
| 10 | Maurice Cheeks | Philadelphia 76ers | |
| 10 | Earl Monroe | Washington Wizards | The team retrospective gives conflicting ceremony and arena-anniversary chronology; the exact date is withheld pending corroboration. |
| 11 | Zydrunas Ilgauskas | Cleveland Cavaliers | |
| 11 | Isiah Thomas | Detroit Pistons | |
| 11 | Yao Ming | Houston Rockets | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 11 | Bob Davies | Sacramento Kings | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 11 | Elvin Hayes | Washington Wizards | |
| 12 | Derek Harper | Dallas Mavericks | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 12 | Fat Lever | Denver Nuggets | Not established in the reviewed sources. |
| 12 | Dick Barnett | New York Knicks | The retirement is confirmed; the ceremony date is not stated. |
| 12 | Maurice Stokes | Sacramento Kings | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 12 | Bruce Bowen | San Antonio Spurs | Not stated in the reviewed list. |
| 12 | John Stockton | Utah Jazz | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 13 | Bobby Phills | Charlotte Hornets | |
| 13 | Wilt Chamberlain | Golden State Warriors | Not stated in the reviewed list. |
| 13 | Wilt Chamberlain | Los Angeles Lakers | |
| 13 | Wilt Chamberlain | Philadelphia 76ers | |
| 13 | Dave Twardzik | Portland Trail Blazers | Not stated in the reviewed list. |
| 13 | James Silas | San Antonio Spurs | Not stated in the reviewed list. |
| 14 | Bob Cousy | Boston Celtics | |
| 14 | Tom Meschery | Golden State Warriors | Not stated in the reviewed list. |
| 14 | Jon McGlocklin | Milwaukee Bucks | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 14 | Lionel Hollins | Portland Trail Blazers | Not stated in the reviewed list. |
| 14 | Oscar Robertson | Sacramento Kings | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 14 | Jeff Hornacek | Utah Jazz | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 15 | Tom Heinsohn | Boston Celtics | |
| 15 | Vince Carter | Brooklyn Nets | Date derived from reportsDate derived from the completed AP report: the Nets retired No. 15 at halftime on Saturday against Miami. Publication at January 26, 2025, 01:34 UTC was January 25 in New York. The event paragraph does not print the full date. |
| 15 | Brad Davis | Dallas Mavericks | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 15 | Vinnie Johnson | Detroit Pistons | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 15 | Earl Monroe | New York Knicks | |
| 15 | Hal Greer | Philadelphia 76ers | |
| 15 | Larry Steele | Portland Trail Blazers | Not stated in the reviewed list. |
| 15 | Vince Carter | Toronto Raptors | |
| 16 | Tom “Satch” Sanders | Boston Celtics | |
| 16 | Bob Lanier | Detroit Pistons | |
| 16 | Alvin Attles | Golden State Warriors | Not stated in the reviewed list. |
| 16 | Pau Gasol | Los Angeles Lakers | |
| 16 | Bob Lanier | Milwaukee Bucks | |
| 16 | Peja Stojakovic | Sacramento Kings | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 17 | John Havlicek | Boston Celtics | |
| 17 | Chris Mullin | Golden State Warriors | Not stated in the reviewed list. |
| 18 | Dave Cowens | Boston Celtics | |
| 19 | Don Nelson | Boston Celtics | |
| 20 | Maurice Lucas | Portland Trail Blazers | Not stated in the reviewed list. |
| 20 | Manu Ginobili | San Antonio Spurs | Not stated in the reviewed list. |
| 21 | Dominique Wilkins | Atlanta Hawks | |
| 21 | Bill Sharman | Boston Celtics | |
| 21 | Dave Bing | Detroit Pistons | The report gives 1983; the month and day are not stated. |
| 21 | Michael Cooper | Los Angeles Lakers | |
| 21 | Vlade Divac | Sacramento Kings | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 21 | Tim Duncan | San Antonio Spurs | Not stated in the reviewed list. |
| 22 | Ed Macauley | Boston Celtics | |
| 22 | Larry Nance Sr. | Cleveland Cavaliers | |
| 22 | Rolando Blackman | Dallas Mavericks | |
| 22 | Clyde Drexler | Houston Rockets | |
| 22 | Elgin Baylor | Los Angeles Lakers | |
| 22 | Dave DeBusschere | New York Knicks | |
| 22 | Clyde Drexler | Portland Trail Blazers | |
| 23 | Lou Hudson | Atlanta Hawks | Not established in the reviewed sources. |
| 23 | Frank Ramsey | Boston Celtics | |
| 23 | John Williamson | Brooklyn Nets | |
| 23 | Michael Jordan | Chicago Bulls | |
| 23 | Calvin Murphy | Houston Rockets | |
| 24 | Sam Jones | Boston Celtics | |
| 24 | Mark Aguirre | Dallas Mavericks | Date derived from reportsJanuary 29, 2026 is derived from the completed team report’s Thursday-night ceremony against Charlotte, published January 30, and the advance announcement’s matching January 29 fixture; the full date is not printed in the completed event paragraph. |
| 24 | Rick Barry | Golden State Warriors | Not stated in the reviewed list. |
| 24 | Moses Malone | Houston Rockets | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 24 | Kobe Bryant | Los Angeles Lakers | |
| 24 | Bill Bradley | New York Knicks | |
| 24 | Bobby Jones | Philadelphia 76ers | |
| 25 | K.C. Jones | Boston Celtics | |
| 25 | Mark Price | Cleveland Cavaliers | |
| 25 | Gail Goodrich | Los Angeles Lakers | |
| 25 | Gus Johnson | Washington Wizards | |
| 27 | Jack Twyman | Sacramento Kings | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 30 | George McGinnis | Indiana Pacers | Not established in the reviewed sources. |
| 30 | Bob Gross | Portland Trail Blazers | Not stated in the reviewed list. |
| 30 | Terry Porter | Portland Trail Blazers | Not stated in the reviewed list. |
| 31 | Cedric Maxwell | Boston Celtics | |
| 31 | Reggie Miller | Indiana Pacers | Not established in the reviewed sources. |
| 31 | Shawn Marion | Phoenix Suns | The reviewed source establishes retirement but does not state the ceremony date. |
| 32 | Kevin McHale | Boston Celtics | |
| 32 | Julius Erving | Brooklyn Nets | |
| 32 | Richard Hamilton | Detroit Pistons | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 32 | Magic Johnson | Los Angeles Lakers | |
| 32 | Shaquille O’Neal | Miami Heat | Not stated in the January 2024 report. |
| 32 | Brian Winters | Milwaukee Bucks | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 32 | Shaquille O'Neal | Orlando Magic | Date derived from reportsThe local ceremony date is derived from the team’s Tuesday, February 13 announcement and the completed AP report, published February 14, 2024 UTC, describing Tuesday night after the Oklahoma City game. It is not a full date printed in the completed-event paragraph. |
| 32 | Billy Cunningham | Philadelphia 76ers | |
| 32 | Amar’e Stoudemire | Phoenix Suns | The source dates the retirement to March 2024 but does not state the day. The earlier March 2 announcement alone does not establish the completed ceremony date. |
| 32 | Bill Walton | Portland Trail Blazers | Not stated in the reviewed list. |
| 32 | Sean Elliott | San Antonio Spurs | Not stated in the reviewed list. |
| 32 | Karl Malone | Utah Jazz | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 33 | Larry Bird | Boston Celtics | |
| 33 | Scottie Pippen | Chicago Bulls | |
| 33 | David Thompson | Denver Nuggets | Not established in the reviewed sources. |
| 33 | Kareem Abdul-Jabbar | Los Angeles Lakers | |
| 33 | Marc Gasol | Memphis Grizzlies | |
| 33 | Alonzo Mourning | Miami Heat | Not stated in the January 2024 report. |
| 33 | Kareem Abdul-Jabbar | Milwaukee Bucks | |
| 33 | Patrick Ewing | New York Knicks | |
| 33 | Alvan Adams | Phoenix Suns | The reviewed source establishes retirement but does not state the ceremony date. |
| 34 | Paul Pierce | Boston Celtics | |
| 34 | Austin Carr | Cleveland Cavaliers | |
| 34 | Hakeem Olajuwon | Houston Rockets | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 34 | Mel Daniels | Indiana Pacers | Not established in the reviewed sources. |
| 34 | Shaquille O'Neal | Los Angeles Lakers | |
| 34 | Charles Barkley | Philadelphia 76ers | |
| 35 | Reggie Lewis | Boston Celtics | |
| 35 | Roger Brown | Indiana Pacers | Not established in the reviewed sources. |
| 35 | Darrell Griffith | Utah Jazz | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 36 | Lloyd Neal | Portland Trail Blazers | Not stated in the reviewed list. |
| 40 | Byron Beck | Denver Nuggets | Not established in the reviewed sources. |
| 40 | Bill Laimbeer | Detroit Pistons | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 40 | Udonis Haslem | Miami Heat | |
| 41 | Dirk Nowitzki | Dallas Mavericks | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 41 | Wes Unseld | Washington Wizards | |
| 42 | Nate Thurmond | Cleveland Cavaliers | |
| 42 | Nate Thurmond | Golden State Warriors | Not stated in the reviewed list. |
| 42 | James Worthy | Los Angeles Lakers | |
| 42 | Connie Hawkins | Phoenix Suns | The reviewed source establishes retirement but does not state the ceremony date. |
| 43 | Brad Daugherty | Cleveland Cavaliers | |
| 44 | Pete Maravich | Atlanta Hawks | Not established in the reviewed sources. |
| 44 | Dan Issel | Denver Nuggets | Not established in the reviewed sources. |
| 44 | Elvin Hayes | Houston Rockets | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 44 | Jerry West | Los Angeles Lakers | |
| 44 | Paul Westphal | Phoenix Suns | |
| 44 | Sam Lacey | Sacramento Kings | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 44 | George Gervin | San Antonio Spurs | Not stated in the reviewed list. |
| 45 | Rudy Tomjanovich | Houston Rockets | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 45 | Geoff Petrie | Portland Trail Blazers | Not stated in the reviewed list. |
| 45 | Phil Chenier | Washington Wizards | |
| 50 | Zach Randolph | Memphis Grizzlies | |
| 50 | David Robinson | San Antonio Spurs | Not stated in the reviewed list. |
| 52 | Buck Williams | Brooklyn Nets | |
| 52 | Jamaal Wilkes | Los Angeles Lakers | |
| 53 | Mark Eaton | Utah Jazz | Not stated in the reviewed sources. |
| 55 | Dikembe Mutombo | Atlanta Hawks | Not established in the reviewed sources. |
| 55 | Dikembe Mutombo | Denver Nuggets | Not established in the reviewed sources. |
| 99 | George Mikan | Los Angeles Lakers |
5 distinct player numbers · 5 players · 5 player-number records
Source review:
Five former-player number retirements from the NBA.com Staff article published October 18, 2024 and updated October 21, including the franchise’s St. Louis Hawks history. Dominique Wilkins’s exact ceremony date is corroborated by an NBA historical event report. Other player dates are not established. Nonplayer honors and uncorroborated additions are outside this dated cohort. This is not a complete current inventory of all team honors.
21 distinct player numbers · 21 players · 21 player-number records
Source review:
The reviewed Celtics official list separates retired player numbers, numeric honors for nonplayers, and the LOSCY name banner. This is a source snapshot, not an independently exhaustive inventory of current arena honors.
6 distinct player numbers · 6 players · 6 player-number records
Source review:
Six player-number retirements are established for the Nets franchise, including explicitly reported New Jersey and ABA-era events. Those historical ceremonies are not described as Brooklyn-era events. The AP report names Carter as the seventh number retiree in January 2025, but does not bind a number to Bill Melchionni, who is outside this partial reviewed list. This is not a complete current inventory. Four dates are literal completed-event dates; Carter’s date is contextually derived and explained, while Kidd’s date is unknown. Carter’s Toronto retirement and Erving’s Philadelphia retirement remain separate records.
This Date in the NBA: December
1 distinct player number · 1 player · 1 player-number record
Source review:
One original Charlotte player-number retirement is established: Bobby Phills No. 13 on February 9, 2000. The official team’s 2014 announcement explicitly distinguishes that original ceremony from a planned November 1 re-hanging. The re-hanging schedule is not treated as a completed event or substituted for the original retirement date. NBA historical reporting independently corroborates the original date. This is not a complete current inventory of Hornets honors and does not transfer the record to the Pelicans.
5 distinct player numbers · 5 players · 5 player-number records
Source review:
Five player-number retirements documented through the January 24, 2026 Derrick Rose ceremony. The source review does not establish whether later honors were added. Ring of Honor membership and non-player banners are outside this count.
7 distinct player numbers · 7 players · 7 player-number records
Source review:
Seven former-player retirements and Joe Tait’s separate commemorative broadcaster banner from the Cavaliers’ January 24, 2019 retrospective by Joe Gabriele. The article explicitly states the completed event dates. Its later CMS modification does not establish a refreshed inventory. Tait’s 39 refers to broadcasting seasons, not a verified retired number or literal banner label. Later honors and current completeness are outside this dated review.
5 distinct player numbers · 5 players · 5 player-number records
Source review:
Five former-player number retirements confirmed by the team’s January 30, 2026 completed-ceremony report, expanding the four-player NBA.com Staff list of October 21, 2024 with Mark Aguirre’s No. 24. Team reports establish the spelling Derek Harper, correcting the overview heading’s Dereck. Blackman’s date is explicit in an NBA historical report. Aguirre’s January 29, 2026 date is transparently derived from the completed Thursday-night report and matching advance fixture, not assumed from an elapsed schedule. Other dates remain unstated. This is not a complete current inventory of all team honors.
6 distinct player numbers · 6 players · 6 player-number records
Source review:
Six former-player number retirements from the NBA.com Staff article published October 21, 2024 and updated October 22, including ABA-era franchise players. Doug Moe’s 432 commemorative coaching jersey is listed separately and is not a player-number record. The dedicated list gives Alex English No. 2, while an NBA historical ceremony entry gives him No. 7; the conflicted event date is not accepted without independent corroboration. No ceremony dates are established by this review. This is not a complete current inventory of all team honors.
10 distinct player numbers · 10 players · 10 player-number records
Source review:
Ten former-player number retirements from the NBA.com Staff list published November 27, 2024. Chuck Daly’s No. 2 coaching honor and the banners for former owner Bill Davidson and former general manager Jack McCloskey are classified separately. Their honor dates and the banners’ literal labels are not stated. Dave Bing’s source gives only the year 1983, without an exact ceremony date. Exact player dates are added only from completed NBA historical event reports. Numeric nonplayer honors do not establish number availability. This is not a complete current inventory of all team honors.
7 distinct player numbers · 7 players · 7 player-number records
Source review:
Seven former-player number records from the NBA.com Staff list updated March 13, 2025, spanning Philadelphia, San Francisco and Golden State franchise history. The retrospective includes Andre Iguodala; it does not establish his exact ceremony date. This reviewed source does not establish a complete current inventory of all team honors. Exact retirement dates are not stated in the list; later additions and non-player banners are outside this coverage.
7 distinct player numbers · 7 players · 7 player-number records
Source review:
Seven former-player number retirements from the NBA.com staff list published November 11, 2024, including the franchise’s San Diego history where stated. The separate Carroll Dawson biography does not establish a literal banner label or completed honor event and is not counted. Rudy Tomjanovich is counted once as a former player. Playing and coaching spans are not ceremony dates. Exact dates are added only where the cited NBA historical reports explicitly describe the completed event. This is not a complete current inventory of all team honors.
4 distinct player numbers · 4 players · 4 player-number records
Source review:
Four former-player number retirements from the NBA.com Staff list published November 21, 2024, including ABA-era Indiana players such as Roger Brown. NBA playing appearances are not required for inclusion in this franchise history. Ceremony dates and a complete inventory of nonplayer honors are not established by this source review. This is not a complete current inventory of all team honors.
14 distinct player numbers · 13 players · 14 player-number records
Source review:
The Lakers official retired-player-number archive, including the Minneapolis franchise era. This is not an inventory of every banner or non-player honor.
3 distinct player numbers · 3 players · 3 player-number records
Source review:
Three former-player retirements are established by completed reporting and the team’s retrospective documentary description: Tony Allen 9, Marc Gasol 33 and Zach Randolph 50. The team announcement binds Allen to No. 9; the later documentary description confirms completion without giving the event date. The overview’s March 15, 2023 Allen caption conflicts with the April 2024 report calling Gasol second after Randolph and the September 2024 announcement calling Allen’s third retirement future. Allen’s exact date remains unstated; an elapsed schedule or documentary publication date is not substituted. Bill Russell’s leaguewide No. 6 policy is separate. Don Poier’s broadcaster role alone does not establish a specific banner label or completed honor. This dated review is not a complete current inventory of Grizzlies honors.
Team announcement: Allen number and completed Gasol/Randolph dates
6 distinct player numbers · 6 players · 6 player-number records
Source review:
Six former Heat players documented in the January 2024 completed-ceremony report, through Udonis Haslem’s January 19 retirement. This dated cohort is not a complete current list of every Heat retired number or arena honor. Honorary retirements for people who did not play for the Heat and later additions are outside this reviewed list. Five original retirement dates are not given in the cited report.
9 distinct player numbers · 9 players · 9 player-number records
Source review:
Nine former-player number retirements in the March 21, 2025 NBA-hosted retrospective by John McKechnie, RotoWire.com. Three ceremony dates are corroborated by completed NBA historical events; the remaining dates are not stated in the reviewed sources. This dated cohort is not a complete current inventory of all team honors.
1 distinct player number · 1 player · 1 player-number record
Source review:
One completed player-number retirement: Malik Sealy’s No. 2, raised on November 4, 2000 in the official team archive. The archive has no established publication or modification date; retrieval is not an update date. The separate August 14, 2026 team announcement identifies Sealy as the previous honoree and schedules Kevin Garnett’s No. 21 for February 28, 2027. That future event is excluded from completed records. This is a dated source review, not a complete current inventory of all team honors.
1 distinct player number · 1 player · 1 player-number record
Source review:
The Associated Press report published February 14, 2024 explicitly identifies Pete Maravich’s No. 7 as retired by the New Orleans Pelicans, while stating that he never played for that franchise. This is a player-number retirement honoring a player from outside the franchise, not a former-Pelicans roster entry. The original Pelicans ceremony date is not established; neither the Utah Jazz date nor an Atlanta Hawks date is transferred here. This is not a complete current inventory of Pelicans honors.
6 distinct player numbers · 6 players · 6 player-number records
Source review:
Six player-number retirements are established by the cited NBA historical reports and profiles. This is a partial reviewed list, not a complete current inventory of Knicks retired numbers or arena honors. Four exact ceremony dates are stated; Frazier’s source gives only 1979, and Barnett’s ceremony date is not stated. Willis Reed, Dick McGuire and Red Holzman are outside this source-verified cohort; their absence is not a claim that they were not honored.
Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame announces 13 inductees for Class of 2024
1 distinct player number · 1 player · 1 player-number record
Source review:
One completed Oklahoma City player-number retirement is established by ESPN beat reporter Royce Young and Kansas Athletics: Nick Collison No. 4. The March 20, 2019 date is derived from completed-event and publication context, corroborated by the earlier official schedule. The schedule alone is not proof of completion. This dated review is not a complete current inventory of Thunder honors and makes no claim transferring Seattle retirements to Oklahoma City.
1 distinct player number · 1 player · 1 player-number record
Source review:
One completed former-player number retirement from the NBA-hosted Associated Press report: Shaquille O’Neal’s No. 32. The report describes a completed Tuesday-night postgame ceremony and a hoisted banner. The February 13, 2024 local date is derived by matching that completed report to the team announcement and Oklahoma City matchup, not by treating an announced event as completed or using a UTC publication date as the ceremony date. This dated cohort does not establish a complete current inventory of player, fan or other honors.
10 distinct player numbers · 10 players · 10 player-number records
Source review:
The reviewed official list covers ten former players from the Syracuse Nationals and Philadelphia 76ers franchise. It does not establish a complete inventory of non-player banners or independently verify later honors.
8 distinct player numbers · 8 players · 8 player-number records
Source review:
Eight player-number retirements explicitly listed in the NBA Staff overview published August 7, 2025. Four additional records are excluded from this confirmed count because the sources disagree: Dan Majerle 9, Steve Nash 13, Tom Chambers 24 and Charles Barkley 34. The official Suns announcement calls them retired numbers; the later NBA Staff overview classifies them as honored but not retired. The team establishes the name Tom Chambers; the overview’s Tom Chamberlain spelling is not adopted. This conflict remains unresolved. Ring of Honor membership alone does not establish retirement, a literal banner label or a completed ceremony date. This dated review is not a complete current inventory of team honors.
Official Suns retirement wording and conflicting classifications
9 distinct player numbers · 10 players · 10 player-number records
Source review:
Ten former-player records with nine distinct number labels from the NBA-hosted RotoWire.com list published December 3, 2024; this is not a team-authored release. Bob Gross and Terry Porter both have No. 30. Jack Ramsay’s separate No. 77 coaching honor is corroborated by the Trail Blazers’ 2014 report. The historical NBA March report confirms Clyde Drexler’s March 6, 2001 retirement; the other player ceremony dates and nonplayer honor dates remain unstated. Larry Weinberg’s No. 1 appears in the RotoWire other-honors list; his owner and team-president roles are confirmed by the team’s 2019 obituary. Numeric nonplayer honors do not establish number availability. Bill Schonely is also named by the list, but the form and literal label of his honor remain unresolved and he is not added to the counted records here. This is not a complete current inventory of all team honors.
10 distinct player numbers · 10 players · 10 player-number records
Source review:
Ten former-player number retirements from the NBA.com Staff list published December 5, 2024. The source includes Rochester, Cincinnati and Kansas City franchise careers as well as Sacramento; it does not say all honorees played in Sacramento. The separate No. 6 dedication honors the fans collectively, adds no individual person to the count, and is distinct from Bill Russell’s leaguewide No. 6 policy. Ceremony dates are not stated. This is not a complete current inventory of all team honors.
10 distinct player numbers · 10 players · 10 player-number records
Source review:
Ten former-player number records from the NBA-hosted article by Mike Barner of RotoWire.com, published December 5, 2024. This is a dated editorial list, not a Spurs-authored press release. Its playing-season ranges are not retirement dates. This reviewed source does not establish a complete current inventory of all team honors. Exact retirement dates are not stated in the list; later additions and non-player banners are outside this coverage.
1 distinct player number · 1 player · 1 player-number record
Source review:
One completed player-number retirement explicitly described by the Raptors official release published August 27, 2026: Vince Carter’s No. 15 on November 2, 2024. The same release announces a future Kyle Lowry No. 7 ceremony; that announcement is not counted as a completed retirement. It gives Sunday, January 10 without a year in the event paragraph. This is a dated source review, not a complete current inventory of all team honors.
7 distinct player numbers · 7 players · 7 player-number records
Source review:
Seven former-player number retirements from the NBA.com Staff list published December 6, 2024, including the New Orleans Jazz franchise history where stated. Four individual staff and owner banners are separately corroborated by team reports. Those reports establish Sloan’s label as 1223 and Hundley’s as 3051, correcting the overview’s 122 and 11. These are commemorative labels, not additional retired player numbers. Maravich’s ceremony date comes from a completed NBA historical event; Miller’s banner date comes from an explicit team retrospective. Other ceremony dates remain unstated, and Sloan’s announced date is not treated as a confirmed event date. This is not a complete current inventory of all team honors.
5 distinct player numbers · 5 players · 5 player-number records
Source review:
Five former-player number retirements from the Washington Wizards official retrospective, published April 26, 2024 and updated April 29. The cohort includes the franchise’s Baltimore and Washington Bullets history; players need not have appeared under the Wizards name. Four exact ceremony dates are stated in completed-event paragraphs, with Gus Johnson’s date independently corroborated by NBA history. Earl Monroe’s paragraph conflicts internally on the ceremony year and arena anniversary, so his exact date is withheld. Busts and other nonplayer honors are not counted as retired player numbers. This is not a complete current inventory of all team honors.
No. This index contains 187 player-number records from 29 reviewed franchises. Each team archive states its source date and coverage limits. Teams or later honors absent from this index have not been established by this review.
Each team-player-number association has its own row. A player can therefore appear more than once, as Kobe Bryant does for the Lakers with numbers 8 and 24. The index contains 186 team-player entries; this is not a count of globally unique people. Other honors, including commemorative banners and collective dedications, are listed separately in the team archives. Collective dedications are not individual people.
The NBA and NBPA announced the leaguewide retirement of Bill Russell’s No. 6 on August 11, 2022. That leaguewide policy is separate from a franchise honoring a particular player. Team-specific No. 6 records retain their named honorees here; the leaguewide policy does not create another row for every team. A collective fan dedication is also separate from these player records and is shown in its team archive.
Some reviewed lists establish that a number was retired without giving its original ceremony date. Those dates stay explicitly unstated. Source publication dates, playing-season ranges and announced future ceremonies are not substituted for completed retirement dates.
NBA and NBPA leaguewide No. 6 announcement · Jersey rules and the dated grandfathering exception